Rabi H. Mohtar

Rabi H. Mohtar (Google Scholar)

Professor and Dean, Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences, American University of Beirut (FAFS-AUB), and Professor, Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering and Zachry Department of Civil Engineering, Texas A&M University; Fellow, American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (2018)

At Texas A&M, Mohtar founded and led the Water-Energy-Food Nexus Initiative and serves as an Advisor to the Energy Institute.  He was the founding executive director of the Qatar Environment and Energy Research Institute (QEERI), Qatar Foundation and the inaugural director of Purdue Global Engineering Programs. At Purdue, he co-founded the Division of Environmental and Ecological Engineering. With over $16M in funded research grants, Mohtar addresses global resource challenges, including the development of the Water-Energy-Food (WEF) Nexus framework linking science to policy, characterization of the soil-water medium using thermodynamic modeling, efficacy of non-traditional water using physical-based methodologies; and applications for sustainable, integrated water management. He has hosted numerous postdocs and visiting scholars, and carried out research and training in over 15 countries. Mohtar is the 2015 Ven Te Chow Memorial Lecturer, International Water Rescourses Association, and a distinguished alumnus of the American University of Beirut (2014), recipient of the ASABE Kishida International Award (2010), has served on the World Economic Forum’s Global Agenda Councils on Water Security and Climate Change. He is a member of the Board of Governors of the World Water Council and a Senior Non-resident Fellow to the OCP Policy Center. Mohtar has authored or co-authored some 135 peer reviewed articles and 8 books. He has more than 250 published scientific and policy articles, and has participated in, presented at, or organized nearly 300 technical sessions, conferences and workshops, nationally and internationally. He has successfully mentored more than 70 graduate students. Mohtar holds a Bachelor’s degree (1983) from the American University of Beirut, an M.Sc. (1992) and Ph.D. (1994) from Michigan State University.

Comments are closed.